She sat up after her nap on Wednesday, shortened by my gentle waking (so we could go look at a house, a result of our partial desire to have a real home, one that’s ours to live in and do with as we please – weighted in equal measure with our partial desire to rent and save all the money and time that would go into a house).

She sat up, gently startled by the gentle awakening. Our cat Pepper – Pepper, who is her cat and whom she mostly calls “Pup” – rested against her legs as she slept and remained, even now that she was awake.

My daughter looked at her cat and said, “You have ears.”

“Yes, honey, Pepper has ears.”

“And she can walk.”  Here, she mimicked the motion of walking with her hands, in case there was any uncertainty.

“Yes, Pepper can walk.”

“You my ONnnnly Pup. I love you SOOOOOO much, and you love me.”

And all of that is absolutely true. What else should there be between a girl and her cat except a lot of love?

