Reading more of me lately? Yup, I thought so. I’m participating in NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), so it’s my goal to post something every day. That’s right: prepare to read more than you thought you’d have to.

Today, I have three small stories to share. Together, they add up to a slightly larger look at our day than usual.

1. We were trying to round her up for supper. Instead, she took a book to the potty (her Boon potty bench – love it!), and started “reading” to herself. This time, she sang “Polly Wolly Doodle.” As she sat on the toilet. I couldn’t love her more.

This was a different instance (Richard Scarry instead), but her intensity with books – and love for reading while on the potty – are clearly represented.

2. During supper, which was homemade hot and sour soup, she played with her food more than she ate it. Bamboo shoots littered her placemat. She stood to look at herself in the mirror instead of eating. When we asked her to take another bite, she said, “I hate it!”

We looked at each other in shock. Had we said this around her? We try to be careful…so we asked. “Who said that?” And she told us that a boy (whom she named) said it at (insert girl’s name)’s Mommy’s house. That’s right. We were at a Halloween party nearly two weeks ago, and that’s where she heard the word “hate.” She’s mulled it over and finally decided to try out the word, like a new pair of shoes. I hope she decides that this one pinches her toes and that it should be returned.

3. We’re reading Tales from Moominvalley by Tove Jansson at the moment – charming but not my favorite of the Moomin lot so far (some stories are more subtle and adult, I think). We’re reading the Puffin version of this (although all the rest are Four Square), and my daughter, who loves the Moomin pictures, also loves to look at the images of puffins in the book. Then she recites one of Jack Prelutsky’s poems taken from Ride a Purple Pelican, but she always substitutes “puffin” for “parrot”:

Parrot with a pomegranate,
pigeon with a peach…

My favorite part, though, is when she gets to (and correctly recites) the line “they danced a polonaise.” She says it “powonaise,” and surely, the line has never sounded sweeter coming from the mouth of another reader.

She sings, she recites, she tries out new words – and this is only a slice of life taken from suppertime on.

