“On first thought, I said, ‘I’m doing it! I’m doing it! [sad voice] I’m not doing it.’ On second thought, I said, “I’m doing it. I’m doing it! I’M DOING IT!” And so Boy relayed, two days ago (Friday the 14th), his short story of learning to ride a two-wheeler to his grandparents. He didn’t want me to let go, but then he realized he was doing it, and there was no stopping him after that.

Just a week ago today, on the 9th, Girl had a similarly anticlimactic learning-to-ride-a-bike experience. She mounted her two-wheeler, a classic pink Schwinn that was my own first bicycle, and, after trying on too short a runway (the sidewalk from our driveway to our front door), she set off down our road, my hands holding her steady from behind. They were needed for all of two seconds because then she was pedaling, balancing, steering – riding a bike, all on her own!

After riding scooters, a Big Wheel, tricycles, bikes with training wheels, and wobble bikes (known to most as balance bikes), the transition came so much more easily than I anticipated. Why did we wait so long to try? And so we have a house full of people who can ride bicycles, balancing all that life requires on those two wheels, looking down the double yellow lines to the future.

